I’m Kind of a Big Deal in No Man’s Land

I’ve been afraid to blog since I wrote Top 10 Reasons Why Drinking is the New Yoga.

I don’t think I’ve ever written a blog post that got such a uniformly enthusiastic response. I probably never will again.

I wish I could believe it meant I was getting better at writing, but I think it just means I’m just getting better at getting lucky. (Actually, I have no reason believe the latter either, but that’s a topic for a blog post I’ll never disgrace myself by writing.)

Anyway, I was hoping it would give me some idea of a direction to take, but it confused me, because the yoga people liked it as much as the non-yoga people.

All it really did was highlight the meandering, eclectic mess that is the poor Wicked Witch.

After all, she has no target audience, no consistent messaging and apparently a drinking problem.

(How could it possibly get worse?)

One of the main reasons I love my new job is because everything I write has a clear and distinct purpose for a clear and distinct group of people in a clear and distinct industry. The deeper I go into my marketing career, the more unacceptable it seems to have a blog that’s so unmarketable.

So, why am I writing this?

I read this amazing post today by my new favorite blogger, Laurie Ruettimann, or The Cynical Girl. She’s an HR blogger. (Yes, my favorite blogger is an HR blogger.) She wrote about coming back from vacation, and how vacation was so much fun but now she guessed she’d have to go back to HR blogging:

So now what? I dunno. I guess it’s time to get back to work. Writing. Talking about getting you a job. Whatever. It was great to take a break from “HR blogging” and being a “digital influencer” who makes “top 100 HR lists“.

At first I was worried. I thought, “Laurie, you’re kind of making it sound like you think HR blogging is dumb, and that you don’t really care about getting people jobs. But people depend on you! They trust you. You’re going to hurt their feelings, and they might even hate you.”

Then I thought a little more about Trust, a subject that I can safely say is light-years away from the galaxy of my expertise. I realized that inherent in the idea of “trust” is that people believe you’re going to tell them the truth, as in – the real truth – not the truth that they want to hear, or the truth that will get more hits.

Laurie is amazing blogger and influencer, and I think she probably she loves what she does for a living because passion is pretty hard to fake. A little brutal honesty is not going to extinguish real passion.

But without passion, I’m not even sure honesty is possible. Passion carves out the niche – and opens it up to whoever, or whatever, wants to enter. There’s room for heroes, deviants, etc, because they’re all going the same direction.

When there’s no clear niche, even the alleged truth-telling is a reckless guessing (and second-guessing) game. Deviants get you lost or kill you by the side of the road; heroes fade into the night.

3 thoughts on “I’m Kind of a Big Deal in No Man’s Land

  1. I don't think you realize how many remarkable jewels are in this post. Some are:

    After all, she has no target audience, no consistent messaging and apparently a drinking problem. — Anyone who read your recent posts would think this is hilariously astute.

    The deeper I go into my marketing career, the more unacceptable it seems to have a blog that's so unmarketable. – I chose this one because I just wish you would be recognized as a Blog of Note (something I think you deserve) and then read that line once again!

    Then I thought a little more about Trust, a subject that I can safely say is light-years away from the galaxy of my expertise. I realized that inherent in the idea of “trust” is that people believe you're going to tell them the truth, as in – the real truth – not the truth that they want to hear, or the truth that will get more hits. Perfection. Could be the opening paragraph in an important book.

    But without passion, I'm not even sure honesty is possible. Passion carves out the niche – and opens it up to whoever, or whatever, wants to enter. There's room for heroes, deviants, etc, because they're all going the same direction. And here is the opening paragraph to the chapter about passion in the book.

    Deviants get you lost or kill you by the side of the road; heroes fade into the night. Amazing, and must be in the book somewhere…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

