It’s So San Francisco: Wedding at the Rock Climbing Gym

After trying rock climbing in the wild two weeks ago, I followed my rock climbing friends to the indoor gym today. I was well-convinced that the most absurd part of the day would be the part where I willingly walked through the door of the rock climbing gym.

However, 2 and 1/2 hours later, I’d learned to tie knots, belay, done 4 climbs, and was at a wall on the second floor when something even more absurd walked through the door of the gym: an entire wedding party.

A bride, a groom, 4 bridesmaids and 4 groomsman–plus a photographer scuttled in. My two friends and I halted everything and hung over the balcony watching with jaws dropped. “Omigod,” I was muttering over and over again. “This is so San Francisco.” But somehow, as usual, my curiosity overcame my total and complete disdain.

I yelled over the balcony, “Are you getting married here?”
“No!” The beaming (and really, she was) bride called back. “We just think it looks really cool!”
“Wait, is this a photoshoot–or the actual wedding?” Sooo San Francisco…
“We just got married!” She gushed. “But we just wanted to come here because it looks cool!”
“Omigod,” I whispered. “This is the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard of.”

I shouted out to her,”You should come up here to toss your bouquet over.” She jumped and laughed and her brides jumped and laughed and they all said, “yes! yes!” She added, “you have to come down here and try to catch it.”

“Of course!” I promised her, then turned to my friends: “I would rather than die than stand in the lobby of Mission Cliffs trying to catch a wedding bouquet.”

I was saved because the entire party ran over to the downstairs wall and began a photoshoot involving bouncing on the cushioned floor and holding the ropes. We were still in total shock to the point of not being able to climb. “Really? They just want to hold the ropes? I mean, I’m having fun here and I think it’s a cool place,” I conceded. “But, the walls don’t actually look that cool.”

We were about to get back to it when the group started to exit. Then, the climber next to us who was also leaning over the balcony to watch the spectacle suddenly called out, “Hey! Keith!” He ran down the stairs to greet a friend of his who just so happened to be one of the groomsmen.

“Ok,” I declared, louder this time. “This seriously would only happen in San Francisco.” Just when I thought it couldn’t get any weirder, the bride, followed by two of her maids, made a break for the women’s locker room.

“She’s peeing?” I sputtered. “Seriously? God, San Francisco. I don’t even know what to say.”

“Imagine being the naked person in the shower when the bride runs into trying maneuver her train so she can pee in the locker room,” my friend mused.

“I guess. But I’m starting to get the feeling that crazier things have happened.”

One thought on “It’s So San Francisco: Wedding at the Rock Climbing Gym

Leave a Reply

