Taking the Floor

4 years after I wrote 90 pages in my journal about my birthright trip to Israel, a personal essay attempting to condense that experience appeared on the new Web site, Revolving Floor. Revolving Floor (which you should visit all the time, read extensively, comment on compulsively, etc, etc) is a site that gets people with strong opinions writing about a monthly topic and engaging readers in discourse.

My trip to Israel has provided me with many opportunities to engage in discourse over the years. It’s colored the way I think about the political situation there, it’s steered my feelings towards Judaism and it’s lingered in the back of my mind as something that will crop back up in a big way, sometime in my future. But somehow, even though I have some pretty serious opinions about what’s going on, I frequently convey my thoughts in a roundabout, or cheeky way. Maybe it’s because I can’t decide if I’m afraid to anger my family, or deliberately angering my family. Maybe it’s because I can’t decide if largely disliking my association with Judaism is invigorating and liberating, or totally breaks my heart. At the end of the day, I know I don’t believe in God, and I don’t believe in organized religion. But I also know that the world was infinitely–literally infinitely, a safer, warmer, more stable place when I did.

So, given that the topics at end seem pretty damn heavy, I do what I usually do. I adopt a semi-obnoxious tone. I make jokes that may or not be funny. I pretend that I really don’t care, I say semi-hurtful things about other people. It’s not untrue that I try to find the humor in most situations as my number one way of dealing with life + earth – God. But whether that comes through fairly and attractively in my writing is still yet undetermined.

So, that said, check out Eggs, Milk, Honey on Revolving Floor. Comment on the site. Share it with your friends. Make me look like the Social Media Marketing Expert I am. (Attn Potential Employers: YOU WANT TO HIRE ME!)

2 thoughts on “Taking the Floor

  1. “I adopt a semi-obnoxious tone. I make jokes that may or not be funny. I pretend that I really don't care, I say semi-hurtful things about other people. It's not untrue that I try to find the humor in most situations as my number one way of dealing with life + earth – God. But whether that comes through fairly and attractively in my writing is still yet undetermined.”

    Hmmm…beat up on yourself, much? Actually, you're pretty much describing me here, as well. And, to some degree, humor is definitely a defense mechanism, a way of distancing oneself from the things that hurt–then, it's also a healthy way of reacting to the persistent and often overwhelming absurdities of life and the douchebags we inevitably come up against (whereas I'd say that becoming a dogmatist or fundamentalist and insisting nothing's absurd is far less healthy, even if it makes people feel all warm and cozy just like when they were infants being cared for by adults who appeared to be all-powerful and all-knowing…).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

