(The D) Train in Vain

After receiving a last minute request to cover Au Revoir Simone at Bowery Ballroom last Saturday, I was able to recruit my friend B. to go as my plus 1. He was very understanding when I showed up 30 minutes late after making me swear that he wouldn’t be late, didn’t mind that I was in a bad mood due to my own tardiness, and listened patiently while I explained all the reasons why he had to just be my “plus 1” and nothing more. He even emphatically agreed that I was totally un-datable. What a good sport! But at the end of the evening, I just missed my D train at Grand St. and declared that I was “going to have an anxiety attack” about it. He put his foot down. “Seriously, it’s just a train. That is really not necessary.” He was heading uptown (bars on Bleeker st!) and was kind enough to entertain me from the other side of the tracks, and inspiring more photos that made the entire waiting period a Grand ol’ time.


Leave a Reply

