Thanksgiving Cocktail: Cranberry Margaritas


As readers of this blog know, this year would be our first, divorced-parents-joint Thanksgiving. It turned out to be pretty much like every other Thanksgiving: everyone got completely wasted and became totally inappropriate. Added to the mix were inappropriate jokes about how Thanksgiving was so awesome this year was because two wives were better than one (“Omg–don’t you love Big Love? It is totally the best show on cable! When is the new season starting?)

One thing that really helped us all get completely obliterated were these cranberries margaritas. I have to admit that when I arrived at my dad’s and saw my mom preparing drink mix (grinding frozen cranberries in a blender) I was a little taken aback, because the last time she and my dad had a holiday together, I’m pretty sure she was anti-superfluous drinking.

Either way, my dad and my step-mom had tried these drinks at Community Food and Juice, the Upper West Side outpost of the Clinton St. Baking Co. They loved the drinks so much that they asked the restaurant how to make them and had “gotten the recipe from the bartender.”

This amused me because the recipe my mom and dad used was from cocktail.com, and is incidentally the first Google hit for “cranberry margarita.” (It is DEFINITELY in this highly comprehensive FD Guide to Liquor and Cocktails.) Ventures in research aside, these were very popular. One batch turned out turned out to be insufficient, and my father and brother had to make three “lime runs” during the course of the evening. As my mother could not help but loudly observe, “you guys finished an entire bottle of tequila tonight!!”

My father’s defense: “It wasn’t totally full when we started!!!”

You be the judge.

Cranberry Margaritas:

1 1/4 cup cranberry juice
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 cup fresh frozen cranberries, rinsed
3/4 cup fresh squeezed lime juice
3/4 cup tequila
1/2 cup Grand Marnier
ice

Leave a Reply

