He Looked A Lot Like Che Guevara

Today, on our homepage, you will see that On This Day, Che Guevara Is Executed. This is a great story written by Kate, packed with all kinds of information about Che that you cannot learn whilst gazing at some wanna-be hipster’s tee-shirt. Now let me be straight with you. I am a wanna-be hipster. (Except, I don’t want to be that badly, or I’d probably get over the fact that I think skinny jeans look bad on me and start listening to more electronic music.)

But one thing I do have in common with all the other relatively spoiled but internally-turmoiled kids living in Brooklyn today is that some thing about really daring revolutionary dudes, like Che, makes my heart skip a tiny little guerilla drum beat. (Yes, I know you can’t have drums in Guerilla warfare…but…) Of course, my idea of revolution is ill-formed, unrealistic, and in most cases, has more to do with staying out for one more drink than affecting real change.

But at the same time, I think our personal revolutions are important, and that should all seek out small, internal revolutions and evolutions whenever we can. Unlike, my grandfather, I don’t think Obama is the next Castro. (If you think my grandpa is nuts, join the great schlep.) But I do think a lot of things in our country need to be different in order for them to work. We just need to think about how that change gets executed.

For example, my Yoga teacher last night was saying people act as though doing yoga is going to “make you a better person.” But really, we should think of yoga as bringing us to alignment so that we can see the good person that’s already there, but potentially shrouded in misconception or maladjustment. I’m not sure how or if this applies to politics or the country, but given that a total complete revolution is unlikely right now, I think it’s valuable insight as we desperately try to salvage the system we’ve got.

Of course, maybe revolution IS likely. If you read the article, you’ll note that according to Che, the three fundamental lessons we learn from the Cuban Revolution are:

“(1) Popular forces can win a war against the army.
“(2) It is not necessary to wait until all conditions for making revolution exist; the insurrection can create them.
“(3) In underdeveloped America the countryside is the basic area for armed fighting.”

In other words, Yes We Can!

Leave a Reply

