California Court Overturns Ban on Gay Marriage

So there’s good news, and there’s bad news. The good news: For the time being, it is legal for same-sex couples to get married in California. The bad news: I say for the time being because I researched this topic this morning, as a result know that what appears to be a fast, easy and ideal ruling for California’s Supreme Court has actually left an opening for the people of California to make gay marriage illegal–permanently–this November.

The court had a few different options (other than upholding the ban on gay marriage.) They could have done what they did, which was to rule the ban unconstitutional. They could have ordered the legislation to make a new law, but left the wording vague enough so that the end result would have been legalized civil unions. Or they could have ordered legislation to write laws legalizing gay marriages. But they didn’t do that.

If fact, the Supreme Court wanted to be let off the hook and avoid making this controversial decision. They thought the people or legislation should decide. Now, when I went through that phase where I wanted to be a Supreme Court Justice it was because a) I thought I was smarter than everyone else, b) I thought I was more logical than everyone else, c) I thought I was more morally sensible than everyone else and d) I thought my various powers of absolute brilliance would make me an ideal candidate to the absolute final authority on absolutely everything. Admittedly, I was disappointed to hear that the Supreme Court in California was saying, “Um, we don’t want to be responsible for this.” To which I reply: Those of us that write the news are trying hard to take responsibility for our work. Why don’t you news-makers throw us a bone and return the favor?

The bottom line is: They’ve taken the easy way out. In the meantime, anti-gay marriage groups have collected enough signatures (they say–Numbers are being counted now) to get an amendment banning gay marriage altogether on the California ballot in November. This amendment would override what the Supreme court has done now, and once it was passed, the Supreme Court would be powerless to change it. (Yes, boys, powerless! All your dreams are coming true…)

I can’t really think of a way to end this.

Option a) Did you know that Bush is actually trying to pass a similar amendment (one that bans gay marriage) for the national constitution. Vote for Obama!

Option b)

Dear Supreme Court:
The above coffee cup is a symbol of what happens when you try to take the easy way out. Today, instead of getting my usual coffee at Guy and Gallards, I went to Dunkin’ Donuts for free iced coffee. Well: CAVEAT EMPTOR. Dunkin’ Donuts iced coffee (at least the kind the give away for free) is watery and tasteless (unless you count that hint of bitterness vaguely reminiscent of urine. Not that I’ve tasted urine. I’m guessing.) So, not only did it taste bad, my guess was that it was devoid of caffeine. I had to throw it out (as did James, and Josh and maybe Sarah and Kate) and buy a new one. Not only did I not get free coffee, I wasted my precious time and disgraced my very being. Dunkin’ Donuts: I hate you.

One thought on “California Court Overturns Ban on Gay Marriage

Leave a Reply

