The best things in life are…?

This is a true story. I was at a bar my senior year of college when a girl approached me. “I LOVE your bag.”
“Thanks!” I was so flattered. “Guess what?” (I’m very friendly with strangers)
“What?” She was inebriated and willing to play along.
“I got it on sale for 19 dollars!” I was raised on bargain-hunting. If I can’t brag that I underpaid for something, I don’t want to own it.
“Ohhh…” She touched my arm. “You don’t have to be ashamed of that. My father told me I never needed to go to sales, but sometimes I do anyway.”

This was the first time in my life I realized that some people actually like spending money. Some people actually feel good about paying for things. And I’m not the only one to find this noteworthy.

Researchers at the California Institute of Technology did a study and found that people enjoyed wine more when they were told it was an expensive bottle, even though there was no actual difference in quality. Reading about it in Beyond the Headlines, I learned that this is a phenomenon called “neuromarketing.” In other words, the marketing is so compelling it actually alters our sensual experience. We’re convinced we’re having a positive experience just because the commercial said we would.

To me, this is one sad, small piece of a society comprised of people who define themselves based what they own. Not only are expensive products automatically assumed to be good products, but expensive products are also automatically assumed to make good lives. “Luxury” items are available to everyone; especially with financing options. Living above one’s means no longer is a sign of risk, but a sign of prosperity. Unfortunately, as gruesomely evidenced by the subprime mortgage crisis, that doesn’t always work.

(You read right. I referenced the subprime mortgage crisis. Yes, I still majored in Philosophy. Yes, you should hold your applause until after the blog entry is over.)

Of course, because our Beyond the Headlines team is so comprehensive, there’s also an article addressing the flip side of the coin; there are some people who would prefer not to spend a lot of money. Imaginary spokespeople for my brother say there’s probably a happy medium.

3 thoughts on “The best things in life are…?

  1. I was wondering…what is your position on the subprime mortgage cuts? Do you think Fanny Mae bears responsibility for this economic fiasco. I hope you will address this issue in your next blog entry.

    Reply
  2. We are living in a material world…My coworkers and I were shopping on our lunch break as per usual when I suggested we go downstairs (gasp!) in the Anthropologie to the sale (gasp! gasp!) section. “Oh no,” one said, “I am so bad at sales. I can never make myself like it as much as the things Not on Sale! The more expensive things are just so much <>nicer<>.”I gagged a little. But, speaking as a girl currently wearing a $3 pair of pants, I’ve always been a proud underspender… Still, I do have a penchant for marked-up makeup & handbags. Whatever will become of me as a homeowner?!?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

